Critical Infrastructure

There are 16 critical infrastructure sectors whose assets, systems, and networks, whether physical or virtual, are considered so vital to the United States that their incapacitation or destruction would have a debilitating effect on security, national economic security, national public health or safety, or any combination thereof. Presidential Policy Directive 21 (PPD-21): Critical Infrastructure Security and Resilience advances a national policy to strengthen and maintain secure, functioning, and resilient critical infrastructure. This directive supersedes Homeland Security Presidential Directive

The InfraGard National Members Alliance established and maintains the Sector Security and Resiliency Program (SSRP) to provide support for the 16 critical sectors at the local chapter level.  The local SSPR’s exist to provide networking and information sharing between organizations, municipalities, and security stakeholders in the local private sector. The SSPR’s are open to all members of a sector.  InfraGard membership is not required.

Each SSRP is led by one or more Sector Chiefs, experts and leaders from that sector who organize SSRP activities and act as the primary contact and spokesperson.  

The Department of Homeland Security defines the sixteen Critical Infrastructures:



Defense Industrial Base


Food and Agriculture

Nuclear Reactors, Materials, and Waste

Transportation Systems

Water and Wastewater Systems

Whether you are directly employed in one of these sixteen sectors, or are a concerned citizen who wants to learn more and to help protect our country, you are welcome to Join InfraGard!